bluegrass.chartgenie.net

magnificent idea consider, that you..

Menu

Category: DEFAULT

Sylk 130 - When The Funk Hits The Fan

10.06.2020 Faujora 6 Comments

Sliding elegantly from smoky noir jazz with diva vocals courtesy of Vicki Miles to swingin' rhythm 'n' funk jams to down-tempo hip-hoppin' to a cover of an unabashed house music classic In Deep's 'Last Night A DJ Saved My Life' , Britt's so-called "emotion picture" is as stylistically diverse as it is unified by a particular kind of vibe. For a house DJ, Britt's ability to rekindle decades-old amoebas and start a modern-day fire with them is uncanny. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript.

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully. Blues Classical Country. Electronic Folk International. Jazz Latin New Age. Aggressive Bittersweet Druggy. Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Sexy Trippy All Moods. Drinking Hanging Out In Love. Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Some of the tracks are a little too serious in their poetry, but if you're into that, you'll love it namely, "A Day in the Life," and "E.

Break out the beatnik berets and start a-snappin' your fingers. Overall, however, this album is all about a great groove, and it keeps it going on lots of nicely-crafted tracks. A great discovery for those sick of modern rap and something closer to Tribe and De La Soul, but with not as much of a ghetto, street edge.

Good music for any Acid Jazz fan. This seems like a great cd but unfortunately my copy is for kids or something and all the "swearing" is swerved out. It's extremely irritating and keeps me from enjoying the tunes. Very disappointing and it doesn't seem to say that it's the "clean" version anywhere on it.

Format: Audio CD. I'm a middle-aged white guy, who thinks Nirvana and Pearl Jam are new music. I don't know this genre well. Well, it's the day after Christmas, I received it from the young black woman dating my girlfriend's son as a token Christmas gift yesterday, I played it on Christmas Night, and it's just fantastic. I will play this regularly, for the rest of my life. A classic. My title may be extreme to some of you, but I really do feel this way.

In all honesty, everyone was starting to sound like everyone else. If I hadn't stumbled into Tower Records and decided to check this one out on the listening station, I would've never known about this album.

And because this is a "concept" album an overused term, but anyway In all honesty, I owned the album for several months before I learned to appreciate it as a great album. The song that made me purchase the album was "When the Funk Starts to Swing", a sweet slice of jazz-funk harkening back to the heyday of CTI records. Once I actually started listening to the album in its entirety a realized that every song on this ablum--save one--is a standout cut and has its own identity.

The one weak spot on this otherwise glorious album is "The Reason", which unimaginatively lays vocals over a sample of Boz Scaggs, "Lowdown. Why they didn't use this far more superior version of the song on the album is beyond me. It blew me. This CD was given to me by a person who read some of my CD reviews. This was a great trade because I'm always in to new underground music and this one is excellent.

In he started touring worldwide for the Grammy Award winning group Digable Planets for two years with a three-month opening slot with Sade. The song went on to become a staple tune in the US rave scene and is revered as a classic in many countries. Ovum Recordings is still in operation but King resigned from his position in This was his tribute to his 80s heroes. It was his last album for Ovum Recordings and Columbia Records as he began to pursue doing more production work.

A recreation of self-proclaimed bride of christ, Sister Gertrude 's original Preservation Hall album gets new life. Released on Munich based label Compost , this record was praised by the legends of techno Derrick May and Carl Craig , including many of the songs in their sets.

Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for When the Funk Hits the Fan: The Remixes - Sylk on AllMusic - Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for When the Funk Hits the Fan: The Remixes - Sylk on AllMusic -

6 thought on “Sylk 130 - When The Funk Hits The Fan ”

  1. Akinorn says:
    Six Degrees is proud to reissue When The Funk Hits The Fan, the first installment in a trilogy of albums by Philadelphia-based Sylk Long available only as an import, this album is a fun and flavorful tribute to '70s funk, as crafted by Sylk 's creative mainspring, renowned DJ/producer/remixer King Britt/5(2).
  2. Brashicage says:
    Lyrics to When the Funk Hits the Fan by Sylk from the When the Funk Hits the Fan album - including song video, artist biography, translations and more!
  3. Gojora says:
    Oct 27,  · Provided to YouTube by Ingrooves When the Funk Hits the Fan · King Britt · Sylk What Happened Was ℗ ℗ KingBrittArchives Released on: C.
  4. Mikagrel says:
    At the center of the "tale," Britt "stars" as Sylk , a DJ whose records and productions literally make the sounds of another era (mid-'70s Philly ghetto on a Friday night) come alive. Sliding elegantly from smoky noir jazz with diva vocals courtesy of Vicki Miles to swingin' rhythm 'n' funk jams.
  5. Sazuru says:
    Lyrics to 'When The Funk Hits The Fan (Mood II Swing Funky Dub)' by SYLK Discovered using Shazam, the music discovery app. When The Funk Hits The Fan (Mood II Swing Funky Dub) - SYLK .
  6. Aralrajas says:
    King Britt Presents Sylk - When The Funk Hits The Fan ‎ (CD, Album, Obi) Sony Music Entertainment (Taiwan) Ltd., Ovum Recordings, Ruffhouse Records, Columbia /5(44).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Education WordPress Theme By Logical Themes