bluegrass.chartgenie.net

magnificent idea consider, that you..

Menu

Category: DEFAULT

Shining - Amorphis - Tuonela

24.03.2020 Zolokasa 6 Comments

Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday 21 December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December Tuesday 24 December Wednesday 25 December Thursday 26 December Friday 27 December Saturday 28 December Sunday 29 December Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December Wednesday 1 January Thursday 2 January Friday 3 January Saturday 4 January Sunday 5 January Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January Sunday 12 January Monday 13 January Tuesday 14 January Wednesday 15 January Thursday 16 January Friday 17 January Saturday 18 January Sunday 19 January Monday 20 January Spacey, virtuous, cool, and catchy are a few descriptors that sum up this album.

The title track also feels a little lacking in a fiery hook until the saxophone solo helps add some neat flavoring to the song. Like that album, this one means a lot to me in terms of how I developed my appreciation for Amorphis. This album is a truly hypnotizing and chilling record. Amorphis moved away from their experimental death metal roots and passed through a short transitional era to arrive at a very progressive and experimental point of their career.

This album has many interesting folk elements, some from the band's Scandinavian origins but also a few ones from the Arabian and Indian cultures. There also a lot of jazz influences to hear that give a progressive touch to the album. Flutes, saxophones and especially keyboards get more and more prominent and the metal passages are much smoother and cleaner than before. Some erupting death metal parts like in the still very experimental highlight "Greed" or the short and sweet and still very modern bonus track "Northern lights" become exceptions while dreamy and floating progressive metal tracks like the unusual opener "The way", the very jazzy folk track "Nightfall" or the hypnotizing title track "Tuonela" dominate this album.

It's rather difficult to point any particular song out as the album works as a whole structure. The single "Divinity" has been chosen because the song has a slightly addicting chorus but that's the only thing that points a little bit out. But in the end, this album drowns you into a unique atmosphere and won't let you out until the very end as there is no change of style, no filler and no interlude in this album.

Once you listen to the first seconds of the album you are already caught in a very hypnotizing mood. This is a perfect melancholic record for stormy or rainy autumn days. This album has a unique mood. I would even go as far to say that this album has a very particular soul.

There is a lot of light and shade to discover in this masterpiece. The album cover of a mysterious flower in front of a somewhat light but still depressing brown background perfectly illustrates the musical content. Any open minded metal head should check out this album no matter what he normally listens to. It's worth being discovered. It's something very emotional, progressive and unique that I have never heard before while the other albums are great and all very entertaining but maybe lacking of this uniqueness and soul that is present in here.

From an objective point, "Tales from the thousand lakes" and "Am Universum" are both very close to perfection but personally, I prefer the second one. That being sad, I must underline that you should check out "Am Universum" if you happen to like "Tuonela" as it is even a little bit greater in my opinion. Sometimes it is possible to have simply too much of a good idea, and Tuonela is an album that feels guilty of that flaw.

On the surface, it seems a natural progression from the cleaner side of Elegy. The Way. Morning Star. Rusty Moon. Summer's End. The Way Amorphis. Spotify Amazon. Morning Star Amorphis. Nightfall Amorphis. Tuonela Amorphis. Skyforger is the ninth studio album by Finnish heavy metal band Amorphis. Like the previous album, the lyrics to Skyforger are English translations of Finnish poems based on the Kalevala and written by Pekka Kainulainen. Unlike the two previous albums, it is based on different parts of several episodes, but all told from a single character's point of view.

In this sense it is a return to Tales from the Thousand Lakes which told stories from different parts of the Kalevala. In addition to a regular edition, the album was also released in a limited digipak edition which included the bonus track "Godlike Machine". Initially, this digipak edition caused controversy because of sound level fluctuations during the tracks "My Sun" and "Skyforger", but Nuclear Blast has since remedied the problem by promising replacement CDs.

On April 22, , "Silver Bride" was released as a Finland-only single, peaking at number 1. Silent Waters. Silent Waters is the eighth studio album by Finnish heavy metal band Amorphis. In February , the record was certified gold in Finland, having sold over 15, units. Eclipse is the seventh studio album by Finnish heavy metal band Amorphis.

By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Finnvox Studios , Helsinki , Finland. Progressive metal , folk metal. Relapse , Nuclear Blast.

Get all the lyrics to songs on Tuonela and join the Genius community of music scholars to learn the meaning behind the lyrics.

6 thought on “Shining - Amorphis - Tuonela ”

  1. Malagami says:
    Amorphis. Amorphis is a Finnish heavy metal band started by Jan Rechberger, Tomi Koivusaari, and Esa Holopainen in Initially, the band was a death metal act, but on later albums they evolved into playing other genres, including heavy metal, progressive metal, and folk metal.
  2. Taull says:
    *New subscribers only. Plan automatically renews after trial. More ways to shop: Visit an Apple Store, call MY-APPLE, or find a reseller.
  3. Kigakree says:
    Mar 30,  · It's hard to think that many fans of Amorphis' early work could stomach the barely metallic alt-rock on tracks like "Shining" and "Morning Star." Even without Amorphis' history, Tuonela is still a frustrating record. The guitars are shapeless and barely present, the extra instrumentation is forced, and the vocals are wooden. Released on: March 30,
  4. Molar says:
    Tuonela is one of these so called albums that places all the chips on the table but ends up splitting the pot with four other people, leaving Amorphis wondering who the hell took notice with their transition in sound. The first thing the listener will notice is the complete back-turn on the death metal genre that gave them life in the first place/5.
  5. Doulmaran says:
    Queen of Time is the thirteenth studio album by Finnish heavy metal band Amorphis, released worldwide on through Nuclear Blast. This is the first album since 's Tuonela to feature original bassist Olli-Pekka Laine who rejoined the band in , making this the first time since 's Tales from the Thousand Lakes that all four original band members played together on an album.
  6. Mezigore says:
    Officially licensed merch from Amorphis available at Rockabilia. Amorphis is a Finnish heavy metal band formed in Members have included Esa Holopainen, Tomi Koivusaari, Jan Rechberger, Santeri Kallio and Tomi Joutsen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Education WordPress Theme By Logical Themes